Fajr 4:34 am Zuhr 1:30 pm Asr 6:15 pm Maghrib 8:15 pm Isha 9:45 pm

0300 234 0786
174 High Street, London ColneySt Albans, Herts, AL2 1JY

The Month of Dhul Qa’dah

Alhamdulillah, we are now in the sacred month of Dhul Qa’dah!

Why is Dhul Qa’dah special in Islam?

‘Indeed, the number of months with Allah is twelve [lunar] months in the register of Allah [from] the day He created the heavens and the earth; of these, four are sacred. That is the correct religion, so do not wrong yourselves during them…’ [Qur’an, 9:36]

We learn in ahadith, the four sacred months of Islam are:

  1. Muharram
  2. Rajab
  3. Dhul Qa’dah
  4. Dhul Hijjah

It is important to respect the month which Allah has chosen to be sacred, for reasons He knows best. Allah commands us not to ‘wrong ourselves’ during Dhul Qa’dah, which means we should be extra-careful about fulfilling our obligations and not falling into sin.

Dhul Qa’dah – historical significance

Since fighting is forbidden in sacred months, historically, pilgrims could travel to Hajj safely during Dhul Qa’dah without worrying about banditry or war. The words ‘Dhul Qa’dah’ literally mean ‘[the month which is] the possessor of sitting’ – a month in which you are supposed to stay sitting in place instead of going out to fight.